Grand Valley Audubon Society

Subtitle

 
 

The Grand Valley Audubon Society strives to foster an appreciation for birds and other wildlife, preserve a diversity of habitats, and provide a sustainable healthy environment through education, research and individual action.

Spring Bird Count Information

Annual Spring Bird Count
2014 International Migratory Bird Day
Saturday, May 10, 2014

Each year Grand Valley Audubon Society participates in the International Migratory Bird Day (IMBD) which was created in 1993 by visionaries at the Smithsonian Mi gratory Bird Center and the Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology.

Join one of the 12 teams this Saturday, May 10th.

E-mail or call the leader of the area you would like to join and find out where and when to meet.  The teams will be out from early morning to late in the day covering most of Mesa County.  The cost is only $5 per individual or per family.  No experience is required and our leaders will be happy to teach you the basics as you help find the birds during the GVAS annual Spring Bird Count.


What to bring:
-Binoculars
-Water
-Sunscreen
-Lunch
-A Friend



Area
 Description
 Leader
 Phone
 e-mail address
 1
 Mack Area
 Peter Robinson
 241-3212
 peterr@bresnan.net
 2
 Loma - Fruita - GJ West
 Dave, Diane and Jackson Trappett
 dentrada@msn.com
 3
 Grand Junction and Connected Lakes
 Frank Coons
 257-9096
 drcoons@aol.com
 4
 30 Rd to 42 Rd
 Susan Longest
 susan.m.ongest@gmail.com
 5
 Greater Debeque Triangle
 Fran and Paul Didier
 242-8643
 didier@cheerful.com
 6
 Plateau Valley
 Nic Korte and Kathleen McGinley
 242-3779
 nkorte1@hotmail.com
 7
 Top of Grand Mesa
 Cecilia Barr
 241-3905
 cbarr1951@gmail.com
 8
 Redlands and Colorado National Monument
 Cary Atwood
 
 catwood814@gmail.com
 9
 Glade Park and Pinon Mesa
 Ronda Woodward
 256-0725
 woodward.ronda@gmail.com
 10
 East Creek
 Lee Stigen and Mike Henwood
 241-3905
 lstigen531@gmail.com
 11
 West Creek
 Bob Moston
 242-9443
 bandjmost@bresnan.net
 12
 Lands End
 Ken Schreiner
 256-0045
 kenscpa96@Q.com

GVAS 2014 Events

 
May 7             Spring Bird Walk at Devil's Kitchen Parking Lot in Colorado National Monument.  Parks pass needed.  Meet at 7:45 AM.  Leader Cary Atwood.

May 10           Annual Spring Bird Count and 2014 International Migratory Bird Day


May 14          Spring Bird Walk at Devil's Kitchen Parking Lot in Colorado National Monument.  Parks Pass needed.  Meet at 7:30 AM. Leader Nic Korte.


May 17          Spring Bird Walk at Audubon Trail.  Meet in Albertson's parking lot in Redlands at 7:30 AM.  Leader Cary Atwood.


May 19           Program:  Observations from the Field with Ian Billick

                          Executive Director of Rocky Mountain Biological Laboratory 

                                      Also the GVAS Annual Meeting and Dessert Social


May 21           Spring Bird Walk at Audubon Trail.  Meet in Albertson's parking lot in Redlands at 7:30 AM.  Leader Mike Henwood.

 

GVAS Programs are held the

3th Monday of the Month

7:00 P.M.

1st Presbyterian Church

3940 27 1/2 Road

Visit GVAS & Ela Sanctuary

608 Dike Road Grand Junction, CO
 
 

Friend us on Facebook